What is Township Leasing?

Township leasing was introduced in 2006 as a new model for leasing in communities on Aboriginal land in the Northern Territory. 

There are currently three township leases in the Northern Territory, covering a total of six communities. It has been reported that the traditional owners for at least three other communities are considering a township lease.

The Australian Government would like to see township leases over all major communities on Aboriginal land.

This brief by Dr Leon Terrill explains what township leases do and how they relate to other recent reforms. You can download the research brief here. 

Stay Connected